Picture
Many of my friends have special hobbies that define them, such as Soccer, photography, and even sightseeing around the world. However, I have gone into the hobby of swimming, which can be described as the exercise of the body to push through a pool of water. It takes strength and determination to finish and surpass those who race against me. To me, swimming is the challenge of literally trying to go farther than my peers in reaching a goal. 



          I have always liked being in the water, the feeling of weightlessness in a world where everything will weigh you down. I started swimming in the summer of 4th grade, when most of my friends were swimming competitively against other kids of our age. The challenge was easy, as all one would have to do was to literally pull yourself through the water to get to the other side. As time progressed, I learned that to go faster, you have to split the water as you pass through it, making the heavy water that you swim through, slide by instead of weighing you down. I also learned I could not play other sports, as a health condition kept me from playing contact sports. Learning that swimming was one of the only sports I could now excel at, I now exercise and practice so I can be the best at one of the few sports I can participate in. 
       So if you can do something well, pursue it to the point where it can benefit you the most. 


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.